CRC Funding Program

To further develop outstanding cancer research, the UZH and Medical Faculty have established the competitive CRC funding program (CHF 4.9 Mio., 2018-2021) supporting multidisciplinary, translational research projects of scientists and physician-scientists at the CCCZ.

Principal Investigators from UZH and USZ are invited to be part of an innovative, interdisciplinary research team helping to rapidly transfer basic science discoveries into clinical application. To qualify for support, research projects must involve at least one UZH and one USZ principle investigator. It is encouraged that both partners are CRC members; exceptions should be justified. At least one of the partners must be CRC member.

Competitive funding is available in the form of fellowships covering the salary or protected research time of outstanding postdocs and physician-scientists engaged in collaborative projects between groups from preclinical and clinical fields. Currently, five 2-year fellowships will be funded every year.

Read more about the CRC funding program and the CCCZ.

FUNDED PROJECTS (1st Call 2018)

The CRC funding program is a pivotal instrument for the strategic development of the CRC ZURICH and will strengthen the CRC research programs. Within the frame of the first call (2018), seven projects were recommended for funding by a panel of external renowned scientists. We are very pleased to announce that two of the seven projects are funded by the ISREC Foundation (please see table below). Please click here for an overview of funded projects.

Read more about the CRC funding program and the CCCZ.

Prof. Dr. Anne Müller
Institute for Molecular Cancer Research
University of Zurich
Prof. Dr. med. Thorsten Zenz
Department of Hematology and Oncology
University Hospital Zurich
Targeting the tumor microenvironment in B-cell malignancies: exploiting patient-derived xenografts for the rational pre-clinical testing of interventions that result from drug and genetic screening MORE
Prof. Dr. Martin Pruschy
Research Unit for Applied Radiobiology, Department of Radiation Oncology, University Hospital Zurich
Prof. Dr. med. Onur Boyman
Clinical lmmunology, University of Zurich and Department of lmmunology, University Hospital Zurich
Alternative combined radioimmunotherapy to overcome treatment-related resistances MORE
​Prof. Dr. Massimo Lopes
Institute of Molecular Cancer Research
University of Zurich
Prof. Dr. med. Achim Weber
Department of Pathology and Molecular Pathology, University of Zurich and University Hospital Zurich
Deciphering tumorigenesis driven by replication-associated DNA damage MORE
*Funded by the ISREC Foundation

Prof. Dr. Michael O. Hottiger
Department of Molecular Mechanisms of Disease University of Zurich
PD Dr. med. Peter Schraml
Department of Pathology and Molecular Pathology University Hospital Zurich
Validation of mono-­ADP-­ribosylated proteins as diagnostic and prognostic tool in oncology MORE
​Prof. Dr. Maries van den Broek
Institute of Experimental Immunology
University of Zurich
Prof. Dr. med. Lukas Flatz
Senior Consultant in Dermato-oncology, Department of Oncology and Department of Dermatology Kantonsspital St.Gallen
Tertiary lymphoid structures in metastatic melanoma and non-small cell lung cancer tissues as predictive markers for the outcome of checkpoint inhibitor treatment MORE
Prof. Dr. Mitchell Levesque
Department of Dermatology
University Hospital Zurich and University of Zurich
Prof. Dr. med. Matthias Guckenberger
Department for Radiation Oncology
University Hospital Zurich

​Immuno-Radiomics as a novel prognostic and predictive biomarker in malignant melanoma treated with immune checkpoint inhibition - a multi-systems approach MORE

Prof. Dr. Lukas Sommer
Institute of Anatomy
University of Zurich
Prof. Dr. med. Reinhard Dummer
Department of Dermatology
University Hospital Zurich
Investigating the functional role of cellular phenotypes in melanoma targeted therapy MORE
*Funded by the ISREC Foundation

Call for Applications

The next call for applications will be published on December 15th, 2018. The deadline for submissions is March 15th, 2019. 


A panel of external renowned scientists will review and rate the applications. Applications will be judged principally on the following features:

  • Scientific merit - significance of the proposed research to the advances in diagnosis, treatment or prevention of cancer.
  • The synergy that is likely to derive from joining interdisciplinary projects of UZH and USZ research groups and clinical departments.


 IMG_0401-140714_Originale Dateigroesse_1765_Banner.jpg  

CRC Membership

Basic and physician scientists of UZH, USZ, ETH and other Swiss Universities can apply to become a CRC member by submitting the completed membership application form to Maja Zenz. Applicants will usually be informed within a month. 


  • Faculty member of the Medical Faculty, the Faculty of Science or Vetsuisse Faculty OR having the right to confer a PhD at the Faculty of Science. Faculty members of ETH or other Swiss universities may be admitted, if this is supported by three CRC members; however, such external members are not eligible to receive UZH funding - for now.


  • Having an own research grant from the SNSF, OncoSuisse, European Community or NIH.

We are happy to announce the 1st CCC ZURICH Scientific Retreat that will be held together with the Cancer Biology PhD Program.

The retreat will take place on March 24-26th, 2019 in Emmetten at the Hotel Seeblick.

The aim of the meeting is to gain a deeper knowledge of the work of your colleagues, learn from developments in related areas, receive input to your own work and explore potential collaborations.

All participants are invited to submit abstracts for poster presentations. Selected abstracts will be invited for oral presentations. In addition, there will be a poster prize for the best six posters at the meeting.

The deadline for registration and abstract submission is January 15th, 2019.
Registration is mandatory but free of charge.

Please don’t hesitate to contact should you have any questions or comments.


Current Overview of CRC Members

CRC Members A-F
  • Matthias Altmeyer
  • Konrad Basler
  • Tuncay Baubec
  • Martin Baumgartner
  • Burkhard Becher
  • Felix Beuschlein
  • Bernd Bodenmiller
  • Beat Bornhauser
  • Lubor Borsig
  • Jean-Pierre Bourquin
  • Onur Boyman
  • Amedeo Caflisch
  • Pierre-Alain Clavien
  • Michael Detmar
  • Raghvendra Dubey
  • Reinhard Dummer
  • Daniel Fink
  • Lukas Flatz
  • Lars French
CRC Members G-K
  • Kerstin Gari
  • Urs Greber
  • Matthias Guckenberger
  • Alex Hajnal
  • Jason Holland
  • Michael Hottiger
  • Pavel Janscak
CRC Members L-R
  • Mitch Levesque
  • Massimo Lopes
  • Markus Manz
  • Giancarlo Marra
  • Holger Moch
  • Christian Mosimann
  • Anne Müller
  • Christian Münz
  • Hanspeter Nägeli
  • Darius Neri
  • Felix Niggli
  • Cesar Nombela-Arrieta
  • Lorenza Penengo
  • Andreas Plückthun
  • Martin Pruschy
  • Gerhard Rogler
CRC Members S-Z
  • Raffaella Santoro
  • Alessandro Sartori
  • Beat Schäfer
  • Michael Scharl
  • Roger Schibli
  • Isabelle Schmitt-Opitz
  • Lukas Sommer
  • Rolf Stahel
  • Christian Stockmann
  • Tullio Sulser
  • Maries van den Broek
  • Achim Weber
  • Sabine Werner
  • Walter Weder
  • Michael Weller
  • Lynn Wong